Energy Certificates

Measuring Energy Efficiency

There are a number of different types of energy certificates, including EPCs and DECs. As a property owner or manager, you will need to bring in an expert to carry out the adequate tests and examinations in order to get the correct certificate.

To find out more about the difference between energy certificates, keep reading. Alternatively, speak to one of our team by emailing us at


Energy Performance Certificates (EPC)

Energy Performance Certificates (EPCs) are a legal requirement under the Energy Performance of Buildings Regulations (EPBR) for any building constructed, sold or let after 2008 in the UK.

Domestic and commercial Energy Performance Certificates inform prospective buyers or tenants about the energy performance of a building so it can be considered as part of their investment.

The EPC will provide an energy rating from A-G and is based on the energy performance potential of the property (fabrics) and its services (heating, ventilation, lighting).

All domestic and commercial Energy Performance Certificates must be produced by an accredited Energy Assessor and are accompanied by a Recommendation Report, which will highlight measures to enhance the buildings energy performance. EPCs are valid for a 10 year period and there are financial penalties in place for non-compliance.

Display Energy Certificates (DECs)

Display Energy Certificates (DECs) are designed to show the energy performance of public buildings.

All public buildings with a total useful floor area greater than 250m² are obligated to have a Display Energy Certificate (DEC) and advisory report.

Display Energy Certificates state an energy rating from A-G , with A being the most energy-efficient and G being the least.

This rating is based on the performance potential of the building (fabrics) and its services (heating, ventilation, lighting). The DEC comes with an advisory report demonstrating how energy performance can be improved.

Public Display Energy Certificates can only be produced by an accredited Energy Assessor and should be displayed no smaller than A3 in a prominent place clearly visible to members of the public.

Fines can be issued for failing to display a DEC and failing to have a valid advisory report.


TM44 Air Conditioning Inspections

Air Conditioning (AC) Inspections are a legal requirement under the Energy Performance of Buildings Regulations (EPBR).

The inspections were introduced in 2009 and an accompanying Air Conditioning Inspection report will highlight areas where operational improvements can be made to air conditioning systems. Often the savings identified will cover the cost of the inspection.

All air conditioning systems with a combined cooling capacity greater than 12kW are required to have a valid Air Conditioning Inspection report and a certificate in place, with financial penalties present for non-compliance.

Inspections for systems above 250kW have been compulsory since January 2009 and systems 12kW – 250kW since January 2011.

An inspection can only be undertaken by an accredited Air Conditioning Inspector and must be carried out at least once every five years.

Air Conditioning Inspections are often referred to as ‘TM44 Air Conditioning Inspections’ or a ‘TM44 Inspection’. CIBSE TM44 is in fact the guidance used for all Air Conditioning (AC) Inspections conducted in the UK.

Book an Energy Certificate Assessment

From EPCs to DECs and other energy certificates, we’re here to help. Fill out the form below to speak to one of our expert team or drop us an email direct at

    Start typing and press Enter to search

    Shopping Cart